Skip to content

Microsoft Search beats Google

April 3, 2006

vcmike

I spent about an hour this morning with the head of marketing analytics for a major ecommerce company (he preferred to remain unnamed) whose company does alot of business with each of the major search engines. And guess what?

Based on the analysis he has done, Microsoft search beats Google, hands down, both from an end user and an advertising effectiveness perspective.

Just one guy's view, but that is what he gets paid to figure out.

Whodathunkit?

Love to hear comments from readers.

9 Comments

Post a comment
  1. April 3, 2006

    I use Google for all my websearch. It just tends to get me the results I want quickly. I have no real loyalty to it though. I use http://local.live.com for local search whenever I’m travelling. I LIVE off of it. Finding places, driving directions. I just wish it had point-point-point driving directions and highlighting.

  2. April 3, 2006

    My results are similar. I’ve found that over time, MSN seems to generate more useful results than Google does.

    Obviously, there’s no way (for me) to substantiate this and its just one’s guys opinion.

    I’m planning on writing a blog on a software idea for search called “WaybackSearch”. Basically, this could track key metrics (searches for specific keywords and expected results) and measure how the engines are tracking against those metrics. This way, we’d know how the search engines were faring over time.

    It would be great to get some “scientific” data to really get an idea of how the search engines are evolving.

  3. anon #
    April 3, 2006

    I don’t thunk it. That is about the most unsubstantiated, factless, analyticless bag of barf I’ve ever read.

    Now, if there is some serious quantifyable evidence based on scientific explanations, ROI, etc, that is worth reading, well, post it.

  4. unnamed source #
    April 5, 2006

    I am the unnamed source (continuing to remain anonymous so as not to alienate my other search partners).

    In 2 months, MSN has eclipsed the amount of revenue delivered by Google by 25% for my campaign. It took MSN 2 months to better results from a Google campaign that has been running for 2 years. I see close to a 5.0 ROI on MSN now, vs. a 3.0 ROI on Google.

    Numbers speak for themselves.

  5. April 9, 2006

    anon: are you still barfing?

  6. Arvind #
    May 6, 2006

    MSN search is awesome!! I just tried it and It prooved better than google search!! Truly Microsoft has done it again!! Hats off to u MICROSOFT!!

  7. May 10, 2006

    I wrote on a related issue with the Google search engine on my blog.

    Basically, my issue is that Google seems to penalize sites that are “young” (and puts them in a so-called “Sandbox”). This means that consumers might be missing a ton of relevant sites simply because they are newer.

    One example: Searching on “software startups” on both MSN and Yahoo! puts me in #1 or #2. Searching on Google for the same phrase and I’m nowhere to be found in the top 1,000.

    Just one example, but I can’t be alone.

    Note: I’m not trying to promote my blog here, it’s just an observation

  8. May 18, 2006

    For a couple of years, I’ve used Google Ad Words and Yahoo Overture to buy search and content text ads. Recently, i got an account on MSN AdCenter. I buy ads for a couple of e-commerce websites with ad buying budgets varying from $500 to $5000 per month.

    In terms of ease of use for buying text ads, i find Google and MSN way ahead of Yahoo. What take 30 min to do in Google can take a couple of confusing hours in Yahoo. (I’ve talked to Yahoo engineers working on ad systems, and they know it. This is why they’re preparing to launch “Panama”…).

    Between Google AdWords and the new MSN AdCenter, it’s a close call. I’ve been familiar with Google for a while, therefore it’s easy to find my way around. MSN AdCenter is a new tool. I am impressed with its intuitive workflow. I like the fact that targeting (down to the city level) is readily available in step 1, and they have a nice budget estimator tool in step 4. Yet, their system only works if you are using MS-Explorer; that’s a pain, for i rarely use that browser; i’ve happily switched to Firefox for everything else. MSN on-screen help is well-done. MSN user interface has a mix of white and light blue colors; contrast helps visually understand quickly some screens.

    Google has in my view the best (most creative/relevant) semantic tool for finding other keywords. They make it very easy to integrate URL IDs to track the conversion ratio of each keyword click into registration or sales. And Google has a huge AdSense network for running ads on other content sites. It seems they recently improved the selection tool to decide on which sites i want to run my ads (by content, geography, keywords, etc.). Google on-screen help is good too. Regarding user interface, the plain white screens everywhere require to pay more attention to written text.

    It’s going to be very interesting to see how these 3 tools evolve. Good for us that MSN is giving Google some real competition. Ad buyers, then consumers, will be the prime beneficiaries of this race.

  9. February 4, 2010

    http://vkatalogah.ru/ – прогон по rss каталогам

Leave a Reply

