Skip to content

The Toothless VC Pitch

June 4, 2006

vcmike

This is a true story.

Last Friday a couple of entrepreneurs made their way from DC to Boston to pitch me on their venture.

One of the entrepreneurs was in the midst of a series of dental surgeries to repair/replace a cracked tooth.

When they stopped for lunch, the tooth in question made its way from his mouth into the burger he was eating.

Not wanting to show up for a VC pitch missing one of his two front teeth, these guys stopped at CVS, bought some crazy glue, and glued the tooth back in.

The tooth made it through the pitch, but was kind of hanging at a weird angle.

I couldn't help but ask…

3 Comments

Post a comment
  1. June 5, 2006

    haha …

    That’s hilarious, and I can picture it!

  2. Erik #
    June 9, 2006

    So…..

    Did they get meeting number two?

  3. Ben #
    June 11, 2006

    About 12-14 years ago, I was on my way to meet with the CEO of Packard Bell. Packard Bell was the hot consumer retail PC company. (the use of a brand that hinted Pac Bell and Hewlett Packard was a brilliant move, but he also ran in to the issue of—we cash matters)

    While stripping a stereo wire with my teeth (yes my mom told me to never do this), I broke a cap off my front tooth. And yes I super glued it…there is something about super glue in your mouth that seems like a fundamentally bad idea……..but it worked.

Leave a Reply

