Skip to content

Battelle: Marketing as Conversation

November 12, 2006

vcmike

Amidst all the murmurings over Google’s march across the advertising landscape, John Battelle had a comment I liked:

 But in the end advertisers are not computer programmers, they are marketers, and while it’s true that the approach of AdWords and AdSense pushes remarkable efficiencies and opportunities into the practice of marketing, I posit that the practice of marketing is about more than efficiency. It’s also about emotion, passion, and conversation. And no matter how hard you try, you can’t automate conversations.

5 Comments

Post a comment
  1. November 13, 2006

    Hey Mike,

    Great work with the blog, its been really relevant and insightful; the million little pieces post is right on the money. I became an active reader of the blog when I started blogging for a chance at a job shadow at your firm (http://blogs.experience.com/steven/). I ended up winning, and when I got the itinerary, I was disappointed that you weren’t on there, but am realizing that you’re probably still out west working. I just wanted to say thanks for writing that post about the website traffic measurement mess (I really don’t think I would be going to Boston, if you hadn’t written it). Anyways, Good Luck and please keep up with great posts.

    Steve

    PS, Was that crazy dog thing suppose to be funny?

  2. November 13, 2006

    Steve-

    Sorry I missed you.

    I just checked out your blog and was happy to see you are an Eagles fan. For better and worse, so am I. Go Iggles!

    That dog video had me in stitches. Not so for you?

  3. kuanazar #
    January 2, 2010

    Классные мультфильмы бесплатно на Кинозоуне.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. http://wisin-and-yandel.giveology.com/entregate-wisin-y-yandel.html
  2. canyon crest

Leave a Reply

