Skip to content

What it Means to Succeed

February 28, 2008

vcmike

My mom sent me a great birthday card this month which consisted of a Ralph Waldo Emerson poem.

It really hit home, and I am keeping the card by my desk. I thought I’d share it, too:

“To laugh often and much;

To win the respect of intelligent people and the affection of children;

To earn the appreciation of honest critics and endure the betrayal of false friends;

To appreciate beauty;

To find the best in others;

To leave the world a bit better, whether by a healthy child, a garden patch, a redeemed social condition;

To know even one life has breathed a little easier because you have lived.

THIS is to have SUCCEEDED.”

And here all this time I thought success was just the number of 10X returns I had?

One Comment

Post a comment
  1. February 28, 2008

    Thank God that Emerson was not a VC.

Leave a Reply

