Skip to content

To Dad

June 16, 2008

vcmike

We had a fun Father’s Day yesterday. After getting soaked watching my 12 year old son’s soccer team lose on penalty kicks (after two overtime periods), we dried off, I took a nap (the best present of all!), and then we went to Jillian’s next to Fenway for burgers ‘n bowling.  I suck at bowling but the Father’s Day Gods were with me and I had one game where I nearly broke 200 (I otherwise did not break 100!).

I lost my Dad to cancer a few years back, and so no longer play the “son” part in Father’s Day.  But I still think about him all the time, especially on Father’s Day.  One of the things that has dawned on me recently is the example Dad set for being a Father.  Unlike so many of us trying to figure out how to be a good parent today, as far as I could tell I don’t think Dad was ever too concerned about whether he was “pals” with any of his four sons.

But, even without trying, he actually was the best friend I’ve ever had.

I am not sure if they read blogs in Heaven,  but just in case, I wanted to say that I miss you, and Thanks for being such a great friend.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

