Skip to content

What Did You Do in July?

August 6, 2008

vcmike

Getting ready for what I hope will be a vacation-packed and restful August (I need it!), I spent the month of July in California, bouncing between SF and SoCal (where my family was staying at the in-laws).

Meanwhile, the good folks at WordPress were busy too. Rather than summarizing, I have copied below Matt’s “July Wrap Up” post:

July was an awesome month. We released our Open Source iPhone app and rolled out updates on WordPress.com in tandem with version 2.6 on WordPress.org. Here’s the stats rundown:

  • 257,163 blogs were created.
  • 271,427 new users joined.
  • 3,110,479 file uploads
  • About 1,381 gigabytes of new files.
  • 395 terabytes of content transferred from our datacenters.
  • 6,245,424 comments.
  • 4,868,359 logins.
  • 812,287,538 pageviews on WordPress.com, and another 567,059,283 on self-hosted blogs (1,379,346,821 pageviews total across WordPress blogs we track).
  • 1,102,039 active blogs and 13,216,843 active posts where “active” means they got a human visitor.

Other interesting stuff:

We signed on The Real Dan Lyons as a VIP blogger (though you may know him as the Fake Steve Jobs).

You added more tags and categories than ever before: more than 8 thousand tags and 19 thousand categories.

You made great use of our new caption feature: more than 75 thousand in its first month.

Writers for Maclean’s, Canada’s only national weekly current affairs magazine, now blog with WordPress VIP.

Quite a month!

10 Comments

Post a comment
  1. chandij #
    September 12, 2008

    I guess you’re looking for comments about what we wordpress users did in July? I spent July, very unexpectedly, in a hospital in Italy. It was quite an experience!

    http:\\italiandreams.wordpress.com

  2. September 16, 2008

    Oddly enough, I was also in California in July. Thanks for this post. It’s truly amazing to see the actual numbers of people blogging.

  3. batintin29 #
    April 30, 2009

    July???..hmmm since i’m from the philippines i was in school…doing tons of homeworks and research papers..worrying about deadlines and exams. hehehe

  4. armie of words #
    July 8, 2009

    My July isn’t over yet.🙂

  5. elderfox #
    July 11, 2009

    As “armie” said, July isn’t over yet…so far had doctor appt (hate this getting older) Monday the dentist (still have my own teeth–must have been the red stuff in Missouri water or maybe the fish from Puget Sound???) The catch then were 50/100# salmon, not so big now…The world is changing and me too. .

  6. auntjayne #
    July 14, 2009

    Looking at all the numbers make me really happy that I chose wordpress for my blog.
    Wordpress Rules!!😀

  7. July 21, 2009

    These short Sale are messing with my business, you have to wait forever on the bank

  8. July 25, 2009

    blah. hate math, but this sounds good ! *laughs*

  9. Irene Suwarno #
    August 17, 2009

    July is the greatest month since my birthday is on July and it reminds me of how young I am as time goes by!

  10. dannyhageman #
    August 19, 2009

    July… hhmmm can you say “blogging challenge!”

Leave a Reply

