Skip to content

Twitter as My Personal Research Tool

February 23, 2009

vcmike

I quickly need some data comparing pageviews and revenue for display vs. search advertising. I am in my car, driving (late) to a 2 pm meeting, and thinking about where I can get this data in time to plug into a presentation I need to give about 3 minutes after I return from this meeting. Hmmmm….

At 2:02 pm, I send this Tweet out from my car (I was at a red light):

“HELP!! Anybody have data for: 08 ttl search revenue and ttl search impressions vs 08 ttl display rev and ttl display impressions?? Thanks!”

This automagically goes out to both Twitter and my Facebook status update.

At 2:04 pm, I get a Facebook comment back from Slide exec Keith Rabois, pointing me toward Mary Meeker’s Web 2.0 Trends Report. I do a Twitter search on “Mary Meeker,” immediately find like 20 links to Meeker’s report, and get the data, presto.

Who says all this social media stuff is a waste of time??

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

