Skip to content

Thinking of You Dad

November 19, 2009

vcmike

Every year on November 19 I call my mom to wish her a Happy Anniversary. And she always is so surprised I remember, since my Dad passed away in 2001.

Ask people who know me well, I am NOT the kind of guy who remembers things like birthdays, anniversaries, etc. But for some reason November 19 is etched into my consciousness, much more so than, for example, the date of my Dad’s birthday or death. Part of it, I think, is that my parents had such an incredible love affair that their anniversary was always a source of great happiness and celebration for all of us. And the older I’ve gotten the more I’ve appreciated this.

One of the best gifts parents can give their kids is the model of a wonderful marriage that remains a love affair even after all the struggles and tensions that any marriage endures over the decades.

So here’s to ya, Mom and Dad!

3 Comments

Post a comment
  1. November 19, 2009

    Very touching post!
    Someone once said to me, that for a man, losing a father is an event that does not fade in memory. I lost my father when I was barely in my very early 20s. To this day it is the worst day of my life. He also was absolutely fantastic father and husband. True romantic, gentleman, and a great leader.
    I have very big shoes to fill, especially, since I have his name.
    I often mention in my blog things he taught me (here i most recent article):
    “Lessons I learned at my father’s funeral”
    http://leanstartups.com/leadership-lessons-i-learned-at-my-fathers-funeral.html

    Mike, who knows, maybe they are up there having fun and looking down on us with big smiles on their face

  2. November 20, 2009

    Mike, great post – thank you. This was a really poignant post for me, as November 1 was the first anniversary of my mom’s passing. She was a wonderful mother, a true friend, and taught me nearly everything I know about leadership. My dad’s life is not the same without her, and I know mine certainly isn’t either.

    Your post reminded me that I need to make sure to do something special with my father on December 15 – what would have been their 36th anniversary.

  3. December 17, 2009

    Sorry to hear about your loss, nice to see you ring your mum

Leave a Reply

