Skip to content

Friends or Followers?

December 24, 2009

vcmike

My colleague @berecruited (Ryan Spoon) and I made what has become our nearly weekly pilgrimage to Facebook on Tuesday to chat with some of our friends there. In the course of our meeting the Twitter question came up, and we divulged our bipolar personal usage patterns:  Ryan is a total Facebook bigot and never uses Twitter, while I am an avid Twitter user, though I have been spending increasingly more time on Facebook.

We spent a bunch of time discussing why this was so. For me the answer is simple: with the exception of a couple dozen folks who I follow because we are friends, for the most part I follow people on Twitter expressly because they have interesting updates and/or link to interesting content. As such, Twitter has entirely replaced my usage of Google Reader.

In contrast, the combination of getting onto Facebook a couple years ago and not really knowing how/why I would use it, together with the bilateral nature of Facebook friending, means that I have tended only to friend people I know pretty well, and for more social than professional reasons.  In contrast, many of the people whom I follow on Twitter I do not know, and so am not inclined to friend on Facebook.

I guess it turns out that my friends just aren’t that interesting…

24 Comments

Post a comment
  1. December 24, 2009

    Blog response coming…! The best part is that, in describing me as a Facebook user / fanboy, you link to my Twitter URL!

    • December 24, 2009

      ah, but “@” is also the Facebook tagging nomenclature. Though, I guess you are @RyanSpoon on Facebook, hunh? Sh*t, this social media crap is too confusing for me!

      • December 24, 2009

        Is it strange that our two WordPress icons are animals? Weird / creepy?

  2. February 1, 2012

    naturally like your web-site but you have to check the spelling on several of your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling issues and I find it very troublesome to inform the truth however I’ll certainly come again again.

  3. February 4, 2012

    Normally I do not learn article on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very forced me to try and do so! Your writing style has been amazed me. Thank you, very nice article.

  4. July 27, 2013

    Hi there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my myspace group?
    There’s a lot of folks that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Many thanks

  5. May 28, 2014

    Hi, the whole thing is going nicely here and ofcourse every one is
    sharing facts, that’s actually excellent, keep up writing.

  6. June 5, 2014

    Hi there everyone, it’s my first go to see at this site, and post is really fruitful designed for me, keep up posting such posts.

  7. June 15, 2014

    Though, hospitals might be the primary work setting for you, but in next few years a rapid
    growth rate is expected in physician offices or outpatient care centers.
    If you are thinking long and hard about what type of doctor you should be,
    considering otolaryngology jobs is definitely a great
    idea. A phlebotomy class provides lecture as to how to go about proper documentation.

  8. July 14, 2014

    Service facilities get new and ingenious strategies to ripping people off of.
    Many times on the newer vehicles, this condition will cause a check engine light, but is
    subject to the problem. Sell a truck with them, Trucker to Trucker also have a wide range of Commercial
    Trucks for Sale.

  9. July 15, 2014

    Since it is a sensitive issue, the trial proceedings
    should always be left in the hands of a professional.
    Your name along with any other information that you need to
    know about your appearance including the courtroom
    number will be on this printout. People who have been charged with a DUI have to deal with the results of making
    a bad decision to operate a motor vehicle while
    under the influence of alcohol or other controlled substances.

  10. July 29, 2014

    Hi I am so thrilled I found your web site, I really found you by mistake,
    while I was browsing on Digg for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to
    say kudos for a fantastic post and a all round entertaining
    blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to
    browse it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back
    to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the fantastic work.

  11. July 30, 2014

    I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was curious what all is required to get set up?
    I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I’m not very web savvy so I’m not 100% positive.
    Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Cheers

  12. August 9, 2014

    Certain expenses can be classified as a deduction in different ways.
    Woman: ‘So it’s my job to make sure your crew cleans carpets correctly’.
    Make sure you check all battery power & ground connections.

  13. August 20, 2014

    It’s still a bit of a new idea for most people, but its quickly
    gaining in popularity. Blogs are loved by Google because they have
    lots of text and are constantly getting updated; so start your own blog on your website.
    Thinking about blogging but not sure what to blog about.

  14. August 20, 2014

    Thanks in support of sharing such a pleasant idea, post is pleasant, thats why i have
    read it completely

  15. August 20, 2014

    Hi friends, its enormous piece of writing regarding teachingand completely
    explained, keep it up all the time.

  16. September 2, 2014

    Hmm is anyone else encountering problems with the images on this blog loading?
    I’m trying to determine if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any feed-back would be greatly appreciated.

  17. September 2, 2014

    My family members all the time say that I am wasting my time here at net, but I know I am getting know-how every day by reading thes good articles or reviews.

  18. September 8, 2014

    You could definitely see your expertise in the work you write.
    The world hopes for even more passionate writers like
    you who aren’t afraid to say how they believe. All the time follow
    your heart.

  19. December 14, 2014

    Hi there mates, pleasaznt article and good arguments commented
    here, I am truly enjoying bby these.

  20. September 8, 2015

    Old people can find basic activities that they
    like, like strolling within the park with
    colleagues, wading inside the pool for 2 hours, and playing bowling or badminton.

    recollection medicines are usually a trendy antioxidant together with a strong martial
    artist in order to no cost radicals which in
    turn causes destruction linked to cells. Licorice, scientifically termed as Glycerrhiza glabra is another natural
    cure for low recollection problems.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. // RyanSpoon.com

Leave a Reply

