Skip to content

Blogging and Microblogging

January 18, 2010

vcmike

Over the last year or so as I have been Tweeting and Facebooking more and more, I noticed that I was spending less and less time blogging. My urge to publish was being satisfied by sending out more status updates than my friends really cared to see.

But gradually I began to realize that I was neglecting an important part of my professional life.  Before, a good chunk of my blog posts were short and sweet “just read this” or “just heard that” posts, which are easily covered in a status update.  But another chunk of my posts were at least a little more substantive, requiring some thought and more than 140 words to convey.  And the practice of publishing this type of post was something I really valued. I found that the desire to have something at least remotely interesting to say once in a while pushed me to both read more and to think critically more. And, the process of writing in and of itself pushed me to crystallize my thoughts more fully.  By lapsing into a prolific Twitterer but infrequent blogger, I was missing a fair amount of stuff I really liked and valued.

So, I am now making an effort to save a little more time for things that properly are blog posts as opposed to status updates.

Oh yeah, also because Ryan keeps telling me to get traffic to my blog I actually need to post stuff.

3 Comments

Post a comment
  1. January 18, 2010

    Great to see / hear! Do you have a goal of how you want to split blogging vs. microblogging (ie 50%/50%)? Or is it topic dependent (assume so)?

  2. January 18, 2010

    Greetings from Dogpatch NYC! Thank you for the space, it’s incredible. Peter and Jon are the nicest guys.

    Have you tried Tumblr? Many of the NYC and Boston tech / VC / startup people have their blogs there, and it’s more conducive to posts that are too long for tweets and too short (or not original enough) for blog posts. If you do start one, let me know and I’ll introduce you to the community.

    Oh, and you can use our product (Postling) to manage all of your various accounts.🙂

  3. January 20, 2010

    I feel the same way. I haven’t committed to fix it yet. When I do, I’ll tweet about it😉

Leave a Reply

