Skip to content

Founder Frankensteins

January 27, 2010

vcmike

I’ve written before about the dangers of “over-executive-ing” early stage startups, particularly during the early phases when entrepreneurship is much more needed than executiveship.

But the flip side is also true: as a startup approaches the moment of product-market fit, bringing in execution-oriented, market-facing, though still entrepreneurial, “business” talent is really helpful and important.

In my experience great young, technical founders often find this a worrisome prospect, imagining all the ways a business guy could spell ruin for their startup.  I call this the “Frankenstein problem.”  Founders imagine this horrible Frankenstein business guy — the fast talking, gum-chewing, slicked-back hair executive guy who wears fancy clothes, has his own assistant, and sits at his desk giving orders but rarely actually does anything productive himself.  While belittling this image by calling it Frankenstein, I also am the first to say that VCs often DO urge founders to hire a business guy who ends up being exactly the wrong type for an early stage startup culture.  I’ve learned this the hard way — about 7 years ago I recruited a fancy, big salaried Chief Revenue Officers to one of my portfolio companies who more or less fit the Frankenstein description above to a “T.”  Needless to say, he didn’t last long.

But, I’d still argue that the risk of hiring the wrong person, while real, is very often less than NOT hiring someone and substantially underachieving the company’s potential. I still haven’t figured out the best remedy to the Frankenstein problem, but am hoping the success seen by some great founders who brought in great business “guys” (Facebook, Twitter) will help debunk this myth.  In the meantime, the best I’ve been able to come up with is “Just do it.”

4 Comments

Post a comment
  1. January 28, 2010

    Do these slick back – desk pilots still exist today? I can see 7 years ago but surprised to read A) they still walk this earth or B) he was able to slip through the interviewing process – I suspect this is the fatal “Rolodex Hire” that acts as a sugar high for the first month but then quickly drops off.

  2. August 27, 2014

    I like the valuable information you supply on your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your weblog and take a look at again right
    here regularly. I’m reasonably certain I will be informed plenty of new stuff proper here!
    Good luck for the following!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Why company culture is more important for startups | Solid Startups
  2. Founder Frankensteins « Thundernoise's Blog

Leave a Reply

