Skip to content

Conversation as Content Redux

January 19, 2009

vcmike

Two weeks ago I posted that I thought conversation was going to be an important ingredient to the web, not merely as an adjunct to content but as the content itself. This was a theme that I was starting to see recurring.

Since then, this theme has taken on an even greater prominence for me. I am going to go out on a limb and say that this is likely to be the most important and lasting contribution made by the social media movement. Namely, the turning point for the web shifting from a publishing platform to a conversational medium.

I think the implications will be really substantial. And I hope to have some investments that play a big role in capturing the value I believe will be created.

3 Comments

Post a comment
  1. January 20, 2009

    Conversation is the link between publishing and networking…it is the communication between enthusiasts, like minded participants, those seeking counsel/advice and ways for brands to communicate with consumers. You are right VCMike. It is powerful.

  2. January 20, 2009

    It will be interesting to see of things like Facebook Connect result in social interactions taking place inside-out – on the wider internet, with Facebook itself becoming an OpenID type service of sorts. If so, what kind of widgets and tools will the layman need to just plug these social interactions into his web page or blog to get going with no fuss?

    Looking forward to hearing about your investments.

  3. January 21, 2009

    Conversations are the ultimate filters and influencers, therefore, they drive demand in social media. Publishers and advertisers are just waking-up to this tectonic shift and their online business must evolve accordingly. They must earn membership into the communities where the conversations happen and behave according to the community standards. I’m placing my bet this will look a lot like referral and cause marketing.

Leave a comment